Belfort Update – First Art is in!


We just got our first glimpse at the art for our game, Belfort that is being released in 2011 by Tasty Minstrel Games – and I have to say that I am super impressed.  The art is done by Joshua Cappel who has done game design for some great games: Endeavor, Wasabi, Pandemic and many more.

The board is comprised of 5 identical segments such as the one below.  You can see our prototype version and the preview art by Josh (which I’m told isn’t final yet) below.  It’s very interesting to me to see some of the improvements that have been made on the game already.  Below I use “they” instead of “Josh” because I’m not sure how much is 100% from Josh and how much was direction from Tasty Minstrel.

1) I love that they’ve given each building its own icon.  That makes a lot of sense and will help clear up real estate space on the cards that players have.

2) I like that they added the Gold cost and worker placement square for the Guild on the board instead of having to reproduce that each time on the Guild cards.

3) I do like that they kept the shapes of each building unique as I think that will help players locate and identify each building.

4) I love all the little people in and around the town.  Adds a lot of flavour. To this point, Josh has decided he will be making each of the 5 segments different when it comes to the denizens of the town of Belfort.  Tasty Minstrel has a great idea to poll people for ideas on what these denizens could be doing around the town – like a fight outside the pub, or playing another board game by Tasty Minstrel in the Library etc…  Great idea!  Check out Tasty Minstrel on Facebook to add ideas – or even add them to the comments below and I’ll forward them. (Click to make bigger!)

3 thoughts on “Belfort Update – First Art is in!

  1. I can’t say enough about how I love this art – excellent idea to put our original artwork and Josh’s version side by each. What a difference artwork makes. So immersive. So cool! Big up, Josh!

    Like

  2. I like looking at the old and new side by side – awesome! I think Josh has done a great job again this time so far – I haven’t seen any more than you have! I’m excited too though!

    Like

  3. Pingback: More Art for Belfort! « Inspiration to Publication

Leave a Reply

